Personal Blog by Rhonda Crowdis Hardisty

Peaceful Heart

All too often I receive a call from one of my daughters, hysterical about something.

Most of the time it is for little more than her sister took her mascara, but on occasion it is something more; a car accident, an unpaid speeding ticket followed by another speeding ticket and the threat of a trip to the city jail, etc.

At this point, my heart stops every time my phone rings and one of their names is on the screen.

On days when there are multiple hysterical phone calls I seriously think I am going to have a heart attack!

As a mother, I really am thankful that they all feel safe enough to call me for every little thing going on in their lives. I love that after years of asking them to call me when they reach their destination or change plans, that they have finally learned how to call me.

However, there are times when I wish they would just handle things for themselves and call me after they have resolved the crisis.

When they were younger I had daily heart failure due to lack of phone calls from them. I just could not sleep or focus on my day unless I knew they were all safe and sound somewhere, even if they were not at home.

I know that God is in control in every one of these circumstances. There is no reason for me to ever fear what might be going on at the other end of the line when my daughters call me.

It’s just something I am going to have to work on.

Philippians 4: 6-7 says,

6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

My prayer today is that the peace of God which passes all understanding will guard their hearts and minds as well as mine. I will praise God for my children and their willingness to contact me in every situation. I will praise Him for being all that we need in every situation. I will remember that He is in control.

Do you need prayer in this same area of your life?

Thoughts? Comments?

Swimming Together

Navigating the Waters of Marriage, Mommying and Ministry

chartchums

Smarter Charts from Marjorie Martinelli & Kristine Mraz

Living In The Puzzle

Everyday experiences with my son who has Autism

The Abuse Expose' with Secret Angel

A blog reaching out to victims of abuse and others in need, providing insight about abuse, hope for the future, and guidance to see THE LIGHT that lead Secret Angel out of the darkness of her own abusive situation and helped her to not only survive but to overcome.

cynthianurss

random life wonderment

Judith Heaney, writer

reflecting life in words

Abby Norman

Former Teacher. Future Preacher. Frequently Opinionated

entertainmentmom

A topnotch WordPress.com site

MyWindow2theWorld

Take a look with me...

Moving Autism Forward by Team TACA

Autism. Hope. Education. Support.

Finding our way home

moving forward, but never alone

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

Ecuador Living Magazine

Lifestyle. Opportunity. Adventure.

Las Palmas Ecuador

Discover Ocean Living in South America!!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

caroline holzberger

Keepin' it real about motherhood, Jesus, life, and everything in between.

Chelbreymariel's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

Latitude 1

Two American Expats (to be) Preparing for Life in Ecuador

