Personal Blog by Rhonda Crowdis Hardisty

Procrastinators Heart

I am a planner and I love to put things together, yet I am also a major procrastinator! I either do everything the minute I get the project, or I put it off until the last-minute and then I race to get it done. The other way I incorporate my love of planning with my procrastinating side is to plan out every detail well in advance, then dread the implementation of it; putting it off for as long as possible. It’s like I am setting up a challenge for myself to prove that I can do it! Somehow I always gets it done, but occasionally I cause myself a lot of undue stress in the process.

In graduate school I took mostly online classes so that I could get ahead and not have to stress about deadlines. Well, that lasted about three days. After that I waited until the day something was due to even start on it. I figured an A is an A, and if I can get one without much effort, that was good enough for me.

In undergraduate school I braided my hair and put on my make-up on the way to school or in the parking lot when I arrived. I also stayed up all night the day before an exam to cram for the test. Then I would be too exhausted the next morning to even function, much less pass an exam. I think I took US History online THREE TIMES! I just couldn’t focus long enough to get through all that reading! I finally took it in class at UNT, loved it and made an A!

In high school I memorized my test information in the car on the way to school, WHILE I WAS DRIVING!  I now kick myself for making B’s and C’s when I know I could have done much better by just applying myself, even a little.

Luckily, I am very organized…well, most of the time. This helps to get things done on short notice. I am also good at skimming things rather than reading them, especially on the computer. Don’t tell my teachers or my students, but I HATE to read! Control F is my favorite function. It takes me straight to the information I need without having to go through several paragraphs of unimportant data to get to the good part. I know! I’m so bad for admitting this, but I have to be honest.  I love information, but I dislike reading. I am very visual and at times have to read things multiple times to gather all of the pieces for the meaning.

A friend of mine has asked me to co-author a book with her on a subject for which we have joint knowledge. I know my parts and she knows hers. So, it really requires collaboration to accomplish. Of course, I have put off even beginning to write my part because I’m just not into the mind set right now, and I know I can write several pages on Saturday night, before we meet again on Sunday. It’s not that I don’t want to do it. I just have more important things on my to do list; like beating my brother at an online game of Words with Friends, and planting on my Farmville farm. You know, IMPORTANT THINGS!

Truth is, it’s all about priorities and right now my priorities need some adjusting.

We are created in God‘s image and he does everything in perfect timing.

Can you imagine if God put everything off until the last-minute? I know that sometimes it feels as if it is the 11th hour when He responds, but I also know that He has been planning that response since the moment I asked.

I am built in His image, therefore I should also plan every step of the way, regardless of the importance of the task, and implement it with His timing. This is something I need to be striving for, but I always put it off until the next year or the next task or the next something else.

It’s an issue of self-control. The Bible tells us in Proverbs 25: 28 “He that hath no rule over his own spirit is like a city that is broken down, and without walls.”

Right now let’s ALL decide to STOP PROCRASTINATING! Not tomorrow! Not next week! RIGHT NOW! Are you with me?

To get yourself started you should:

  • Create a to-do list
  • Organize the list in terms of what is most important or has an earlier due date.
  • Make a plan for what can and will be accomplished today, this week, this month.
  • Stick to the plan!
  • Check off items as you complete them. This sense of completion will help keep you going.
  • Let someone else know you are working on getting things do so they can help you maintain accountability for your actions!

I am accountable to my writing partner to get my chapters done by Sunday!

I am accountable to my children and husband to have dinner on the table by 7:15 each night (my husband gets home from work about this time)

I am accountable to you to write in my blog two to three times per week!  Thanks for following and joining me on this journey.

Comments on: "Procrastinators Heart" (2)

  1. Roxanne said:

    Rhonda,

    I really like the way that you incorporated how God sees procrastinating. I never, Ever thought about that. I am looking at my procrastinations in a differerent Light now; literally.

  2. Really made me stop and think too. Thanks for reading!

Thoughts? Comments?

Swimming Together

Navigating the Waters of Marriage, Mommying and Ministry

chartchums

Smarter Charts from Marjorie Martinelli & Kristine Mraz

Living In The Puzzle

Everyday experiences with my son who has Autism

The Abuse Expose' with Secret Angel

A blog reaching out to victims of abuse and others in need, providing insight about abuse, hope for the future, and guidance to see THE LIGHT that lead Secret Angel out of the darkness of her own abusive situation and helped her to not only survive but to overcome.

cynthianurss

random life wonderment

Judith Heaney, writer

reflecting life in words

Abby Norman

Former Teacher. Future Preacher. Frequently Opinionated

entertainmentmom

A topnotch WordPress.com site

MyWindow2theWorld

Take a look with me...

Finding our way home

moving forward, but never alone

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

Ecuador Living Magazine

Lifestyle. Opportunity. Adventure.

Las Palmas Ecuador

Discover Ocean Living in South America!!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

caroline holzberger

Keepin' it real about motherhood, Jesus, life, and everything in between.

Chelbreymariel's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

Latitude 1

Two American Expats (to be) Preparing for Life in Ecuador

