Personal Blog by Rhonda Crowdis Hardisty

It is said that all things must come to an end.

Our lives end. Our childhood ends. The day ends. The month ends. The year ends. You get the idea.

There may be some sadness in ending things like a marriage, a career, or a season. There may also be joy in ending things like a project or a class at school. There is usually both a sense of relief when something is over and a sense of loss.

I remember graduation from high school being a lot of both. Since I was in a private school it was the end of 8 years of my life. It was saying good-bye to the place I had spent nearly every awake, and some asleep, moment for 8 of my 18 years. More importantly, I was saying good-bye to the people with whom I had spent 8 of the best years of my life. We had spent at least two years planning our graduation, only to arrive at it and wonder why we ever wanted it.

I think the same is true of a lot of divorces. People nag and complain until they finally get served papers, then they fight harder all the way through the process, only to get to the final decree and wonder why they ever started the process.

As we near the end of another month, and draw close to the end of the year I am thankful for everything I have learned and look forward to the new that comes every January, but at the same time I am sad that my time with the boys is going too fast and ending too quickly. I am sad that my granddaughter will be starting her third year of life after her second birthday in February, and that my middle daughter will be turning 21 in just over a month.

On the other hand, I am looking forward to the end of January which marks the mid-point of this school year; the end of the first semester. I am looking forward to all of the birthdays that fall between January and March; almost half the family, including my girls and me. There are vacation plans, holidays, family gathering, first birthdays, and annual events we will do all over again in a bigger and better way in the coming year.

I am anxiously awaiting the move of the Lord in the new year. With the elections that just passed, and the rumors of things to come I believe He will continue to show Himself even greater than before in the coming year.

An end is really just another beginning, and a beginning can be scary. I am thankful for the opportunity to start over once again and work toward a more positive outcome than we had with things in the year that is ending. I am ready to start over and face those fears with the grace of God to guide me.

What are you thankful to see end? What are you looking forward to seeing begin?

Thoughts? Comments?

Swimming Together

Navigating the Waters of Marriage, Mommying and Ministry

chartchums

Smarter Charts from Marjorie Martinelli & Kristine Mraz

Living In The Puzzle

Everyday experiences with my son who has Autism

The Abuse Expose' with Secret Angel

A blog reaching out to victims of abuse and others in need, providing insight about abuse, hope for the future, and guidance to see THE LIGHT that lead Secret Angel out of the darkness of her own abusive situation and helped her to not only survive but to overcome.

cynthianurss

random life wonderment

Judith Heaney, writer

reflecting life in words

Abby Norman

Former Teacher. Future Preacher. Frequently Opinionated

entertainmentmom

A topnotch WordPress.com site

MyWindow2theWorld

Take a look with me...

Moving Autism Forward by Team TACA

Autism. Hope. Education. Support.

Finding our way home

moving forward, but never alone

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

Ecuador Living Magazine

Lifestyle. Opportunity. Adventure.

Las Palmas Ecuador

Discover Ocean Living in South America!!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

caroline holzberger

Keepin' it real about motherhood, Jesus, life, and everything in between.

Chelbreymariel's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

Latitude 1

Two American Expats (to be) Preparing for Life in Ecuador

