Personal Blog by Rhonda Crowdis Hardisty

I love vegetables and fruitBefore I get to the contents of my series that starts today and will cover the next 10 days in my life, I want to give you a bit of the back story.

March 16, 2013 I embarked on a journey that would take a little over 8 months and cost me 62 units of something I was happy to be without. Between March and November of last year, I lost 62 pounds!

This weight loss was necessary to take care of what my doctors called a fatty liver. Other than my liver enzymes being elevated, I was fairly healthy, and not too concerned about my doctor’s opinion. So, I attempted a half-hearted change in my food intake in late 2012 without much success and just expected my liver to correct itself. However, it did not. During this time I was also dealing with issues that lead to the need for a complete hysterectomy last summer. In order to have the hysterectomy I would need to get my liver enzymes under control or it could reduce my body’s ability to heal itself. My husbands doctor had recommended that he count calories using a free online app at http://www.myfitnesspal.com. So, I decided to give it a try on a Saturday morning AFTER eating a breakfast of pancakes, eggs, and bacon at a local greasy spoon.

My Fitness Pal was the best things I ever did, and proved to be very effective in my weight loss journey, along with some walking and swimming, but I primarily just changed my food intake. Complications from the hysterectomy caused me to be unable to do strenuous exercise from June until late October at which point the weather was no longer cooperating with outdoor activities on a regular basis.

Since Thanksgiving week of 2013, I maintained my 62 pound loss with a 5 pound fluctuation here and there, but continued to keep it under control until the past month during which time my food obsessed husband has taken me out to eat much more often than before. This has made it very difficult to keep up the weight loss much less lose more. I have am now fluctuating with a 10 pound gain that goes up and down in a 5 pound window. I am not happy with this change since my goal is to lose another 60 pounds and then maintain that 120 pound loss for the rest of my life. So, I have begun to research whole foods and how much affect processed foods can have on your health and weight in general. I have spent the last two days purchasing a new selection of foods to cook for my family for the next few weeks and have agreed to a 10-days of real food pledge sponsored by http://www.100daysofrealfood.com.

Over the past 4 years, I have gradually changed the food that my family eats from beef and pork to ground turkey and chicken, from 2% milk to 1%, from potatoes and white rice to brown rice and whole grains. This just seems to be the next logical step in the progression toward getting my family healthy and back to eating the things that God created for us to eat. I am not by any stretch of the imagination a vegan or vegetarian, nor do I want to be at this point. What I want is to put things in my body and the bodies of my family members that will nourish them and not cause cravings or tearing down the natural make up of our digestive systems. I don’t claim to know much about a whole foods or real foods approach, but I am willing to learn and look forward to your input along the way.

 

Thoughts? Comments?

Swimming Together

Navigating the Waters of Marriage, Mommying and Ministry

chartchums

Smarter Charts from Marjorie Martinelli & Kristine Mraz

Living In The Puzzle

Everyday experiences with my son who has Autism

The Abuse Expose' with Secret Angel

A blog reaching out to victims of abuse and others in need, providing insight about abuse, hope for the future, and guidance to see THE LIGHT that lead Secret Angel out of the darkness of her own abusive situation and helped her to not only survive but to overcome.

cynthianurss

random life wonderment

Judith Heaney, writer

reflecting life in words

Abby Norman

Former Teacher. Future Preacher. Frequently Opinionated

entertainmentmom

A topnotch WordPress.com site

MyWindow2theWorld

Take a look with me...

Moving Autism Forward by Team TACA

Autism. Hope. Education. Support.

Finding our way home

moving forward, but never alone

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

Ecuador Living Magazine

Lifestyle. Opportunity. Adventure.

Las Palmas Ecuador

Discover Ocean Living in South America!!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

caroline holzberger

Keepin' it real about motherhood, Jesus, life, and everything in between.

Chelbreymariel's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

Latitude 1

Two American Expats (to be) Preparing for Life in Ecuador

