Personal Blog by Rhonda Crowdis Hardisty

Hearty & Healthy: Day 1

heart_nutSo, it’s the end of day one and I kept to just under 1500 calories and did not eat anything processed, that I know of. I had overnight oats for breakfast that were very good, but left me hungry a few hours later. So, I had an apple for a morning snack, then for lunch a spinach and kale salad with a bit of romaine and mushrooms for texture with balsamic vinegar and olive oil dressing. I felt like I was eating grass! I also hated the dressing. With little available at school that’s not processed, I forced myself to eat it anyway. I survived, but I will certainly use more romaine and a yogurt based dressing for lunch tomorrow. I think a lot of what I am going to find during this challenge is what I like and what I don’t like. I also expect my taste to change as I move away from things with artificial flavors and grow to love things with natural taste built-in. For other snacks I had pumpkin and sunflower seeds! Probably one of the best thing I had all day. For dinner, I made 15 bean soup in the crock pot last night and served it for dinner tonight.

Overall , it was a good day. I didn’t die from a lack of processed food, though I will say I was very tired by the time I left school at 3:30. I work 6:00 to 3:30 or 4:00 pm 5 days a week during the school year. I chalk that up to no caffeine today. Yes, I could have had caffeine, but I typically have my caffeine one of two ways; Starbucks skinny Vanilla Macchiato or a Monster energy drink. Some days I have both. Today I had neither. It may take a few days to figure out how I want to get my caffeine, if at all. I can live without it. I just may be tired until my body adjusts. Luckily, I have never been one to get a headache from lack of caffeine.

My oats and salad are now ready for tomorrow. Next on the agenda will be finding a recipe for tomorrow’s dinner. On this new venture I’m going to have to prepare the night before so that I can tell the girls what to put in the crock pot in the morning after I leave for school.

Any suggestions about lunch or caffeine intake?

Thoughts? Comments?

Swimming Together

Navigating the Waters of Marriage, Mommying and Ministry

chartchums

Smarter Charts from Marjorie Martinelli & Kristine Mraz

Living In The Puzzle

Everyday experiences with my son who has Autism

The Abuse Expose' with Secret Angel

A blog reaching out to victims of abuse and others in need, providing insight about abuse, hope for the future, and guidance to see THE LIGHT that lead Secret Angel out of the darkness of her own abusive situation and helped her to not only survive but to overcome.

cynthianurss

random life wonderment

Judith Heaney, writer

reflecting life in words

Abby Norman

Former Teacher. Future Preacher. Frequently Opinionated

entertainmentmom

A topnotch WordPress.com site

MyWindow2theWorld

Take a look with me...

Finding our way home

moving forward, but never alone

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

Ecuador Living Magazine

Lifestyle. Opportunity. Adventure.

Las Palmas Ecuador

Discover Ocean Living in South America!!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

caroline holzberger

Keepin' it real about motherhood, Jesus, life, and everything in between.

Chelbreymariel's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

Latitude 1

Two American Expats (to be) Preparing for Life in Ecuador

