Personal Blog by Rhonda Crowdis Hardisty

bccc54c1a573f027ba3ccefaa112afd3In focusing on enough this year I have seen that my value is not in how many steps I walk or how often I win the “workweek hustle” on FitBit. It is not tied to being the first car in the parking lot or the last one left at work each day. It is not in how many Starbucks stars, LulaRoe leggings, or tubes of LipSense I collect. It is not even tied to getting my preferred seat at church on Sunday mornings. My value is not in the percentage of times I win at Words with Friends, not even when that friend is my brother ūüėČ It is not in how clean I keep my house or car, how well behaved others believe my children and grandchildren to be, or how neat I write in cursive. It is not in the price of my house, car, or other material things. My value is in who God says I am and who He made¬†me to be. He is my Father and I am His child. He loves me unconditionally regardless of any of these things.

The biggest thing that I am learning in this¬†focus is that my “enoughness” is not based on how well I was parented or how well I have parented my own children. I keep being brought back to this and having to remind myself that even though there are pieces of both that were not and are not perfect, they are best left to God as I, myself aside from Him, do not have the tools to take them on. This does not mean that I am any less of a daughter or mother. It just means that I need to learn what areas of my life to turn over to God and let go. No matter how often they return to my sight and thoughts, they are not mine to pick up again unless and until God gives me that skill set and tells me to go slay those giants.

Linking with 5 Minute Friday today.

Comments on: "5 Minutes from the Heart: Enough" (1)

  1. jodaley said:

    I enjoyed this. I think those of us with perfectionist tendencies (raising hand here) can relate to your words, and would have lists of our own too. Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. Have a wonderful weekend!

Thoughts? Comments?

Swimming Together

Navigating the Waters of Marriage, Mommying and Ministry

chartchums

Smarter Charts from Marjorie Martinelli & Kristine Mraz

Living In The Puzzle

Everyday experiences with my son who has Autism

The Abuse Expose' with Secret Angel

A blog reaching out to victims of abuse and others in need, providing insight about abuse, hope for the future, and guidance to see THE LIGHT that lead Secret Angel out of the darkness of her own abusive situation and helped her to not only survive but to overcome.

cynthianurss

random life wonderment

Judith Heaney, writer

reflecting life in words

Abby Norman

Former Teacher. Future Preacher. Frequently Opinionated

entertainmentmom

A topnotch WordPress.com site

MyWindow2theWorld

Take a look with me...

Finding our way home

moving forward, but never alone

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

Ecuador Living Magazine

Lifestyle. Opportunity. Adventure.

Las Palmas Ecuador

Discover Ocean Living in South America!!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

caroline holzberger

Keepin' it real about motherhood, Jesus, life, and everything in between.

Chelbreymariel's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

Latitude 1

Two American Expats (to be) Preparing for Life in Ecuador

