Thankful Heart: Day 20 – Forgiveness

Forgiveness is one of those things we often take for granted until we want it from someone and it’s not available.

The Bibles tells us over and again that forgiveness in the key to being forgiven:

Mark 11:25-26 And when ye stand praying, forgive, if ye have aught against any: that your Father also which is in heaven may forgive you your trespasses. But if ye do not forgive, neither will your Father which is in heaven forgive your trespasses.

Matthew 6: 14 – 15 For if ye forgive men their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you: But if ye forgive not men their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.

It continues with direction on how often we should forgive:

Matthew 18: 21-22 Then came Peter to him, and said, Lord, how oft shall my brother sin against me, and I forgive him? till seven times? Jesus saith unto him, I say not unto thee, Until seven times: but, Until seventy times seven.

I am thankful that God is willing to forgive us each and every time we make a mistake or a misstep. I am thankful that the people in my life also choose, in most instances, to forgive and move on. We all make mistakes, some big and some small. With Christ as our example we have the opportunity to receive forgiveness when we give it.

I am thankful for the reminder that we must give forgiveness to receive it. The things that I ask Christ to forgive me of are so much larger than the little petty things I may refuse to forgive in others. I like to forgive, forget, and move on. Often times that is not the way other people work. When they cannot let go and move on, I have a difficult time forgiving them for their actions. I guess it’s easier to forgive and forget than to forgive and continue to deal with the issues.

I am thankful that forgiveness is available to both give and receive, and I pray that each of us learn to give it and receive it more appropriately in the future.

Thoughts? Comments?